Building Stronger Ties through Social Economy

L’économie sociale est déjà un élément fondamental du secteur privé et contribue au développement durable et à la compétitivité. C’est un acteur économique de premier plan, qui dynamise l’économie de pays comme l’Espagne, la France ou le Portugal. Dans l’Union européenne seulement, elle génère 8% du PIB et représente 10% de toutes les entreprises. Dans la région euro-méditerranéenne, elle joue également un rôle important puisqu’elle crée 15 millions d’emplois à travers 3,2 millions d’entreprises. 

Ce secteur est dynamique. Il favorise l’émergence de sociétés inclusives, portées par la création d’emplois et une croissance durable. Pourtant, pour prospérer, il a besoin d’écosystèmes adaptés et solidaires qui peuvent fournir le cadre de son développement

La Méditerranée est confrontée à un sérieux défi démographique et doit créer six fois plus d’emplois que ceux qui sont actuellement disponibles. Avec des ratios de chômage des jeunes de 35% et de 45% pour les femmes, la situation est fragile dans certains pays. Disposer d’un écosystème commercial sain, inclusif et durable est synonyme de prospérité et de possibilité de catalyser tout le potentiel de la région.

La pandémie de COVID-19 a ralenti la croissance économique à travers le monde. En 2019, le taux de chômage a atteint 12 %. Dans la même période, 30 % des travailleurs étaient dans le travail informel au sud de la Méditerranée ; une situation qui touche les jeunes (62,4 %), les femmes (54,3 %) et les travailleurs du secteur du tourisme (70 %).

Une action coordonnée est nécessaire pour créer des économies inclusives et l’emploi des jeunes. Il est nécessaire de faciliter la voie au secteur privé, ainsi qu’un plus grand investissement public dans les infrastructures, la santé et l’éducation qui offrent les outils. Il faut un projet qui offre des alternatives pour accueillir l’énorme énergie des jeunes et des femmes.  Des options qui améliorent leur représentation au sein du gouvernement des organisations et qui utilisent cette énergie pour la reconstruction économique et sociale.

Il est possible de favoriser le processus d’innovation, d’expérimentation et de collaboration entre tous les acteurs du marché dans tous les secteurs d’activité. La clé est de reconnaître la valeur ajoutée des entreprises et organisations de l’économie sociale, d’améliorer leur capacité à rendre compte des dimensions sociales et économiques de leurs actions, et d’utiliser ce potentiel pour lutter contre le chômage et construire une économie qui fonctionne pour les gens et la planète.

L’économie sociale doit être intégrée dans un nouveau modèle de développement économique qui englobe également une révolution numérique, verte et bleue, afin de parvenir à un système juste, égalitaire et inclusif qui pourrait répondre aux attentes sociales et réduire le fossé de l’injustice. La lutte contre les inégalités et la pauvreté doit être au centre de ce grand défi.

Les conséquences du COVID-19 ont eu des répercussions dans le monde entier, indépendamment du développement des pays ou de leurs forces politiques et économiques. Cette pandémie a clairement montré qu’en plus d’exiger des systèmes de santé universels avec une réponse immédiate et de qualité, il est essentiel de repenser les réseaux sociaux qui nous relient au niveau local, national et international.

Cette pandémie est l’occasion de donner une visibilité à l’économie sociale et de faire en sorte que les principes qui l’inspirent touchent un plus grand nombre d’acteurs locaux, régionaux et internationaux.

Stimuler les services locaux, promouvoir les circuits courts de production-distribution et réorganiser la communauté, sont quelques-unes des actions qui sont développées pour générer des mécanismes d’inclusion sociale, économique et politique dans un contexte de récupération post-COVID-19.

Repenser et préparer l’avenir est une tâche difficile, car la pandémie de COVID-19 a engendré une crise sanitaire mondiale aux conséquences énormes dans de nombreux domaines de la vie. Nous ferons bientôt l’expérience de son impact sur l’économie, le bien-être et la situation de l’emploi de millions de personnes, ainsi que sur la qualité de l’emploi dans cette nouvelle réalité normale.

L’économie sociale est présentée comme une voie plausible pour récupérer et développer des emplois décents qui répondent de manière globale à la crise actuelle. Il y a des leçons et des bonnes pratiques de la coopération communautaire, de l’économie circulaire, de la durabilité et des actions qui impliquent des personnes, des groupes et des entités ayant des connaissances et une expérience sur la façon de renforcer les liens territoriaux.

18th November 2021

17:00 – 18:30

Mediterranean Social Economy Forum

Session: La région méditerranéenne doit relever de grands défis après le COVID-19

  • Relance et nouveau développement par l’économie sociale dans la région méditerranéenne.
  • Défis, stratégies et réponses de l’économie sociale après COVID-19.
  • Comment renforcer l’économie sociale en Méditerranée et consolider sa contribution au développement économique, à la collaboration régionale et à l’inclusion sociale ?
  • Initiatives euro-méditerranéennes favorisant le développement de l’entrepreneuriat de l’économie sociale.
  • Quelles leçons ont été tirées de l’économie sociale pour renforcer l’inclusion sociale et économique, afin d’identifier et de reproduire les pratiques et politiques publiques dans la région ?
  • L’économie sociale dans les réponses et les problèmes liés au numérique, à l’écologie et au changement climatique.
  • Comment construire un écosystème euromed favorable qui favorise la coopération des entreprises et le développement de l’économie sociale en vue du plan d’action européen pour l’économie sociale que la Commission européenne approuvera à la fin de 2021.

Keynote welcome speakers confirmé

Christa Schweng | President, European Economic and Social Committee.

Juan Antonio Pedreño | General Coordinator of the ESMED Network and President of Social Economy Europe and CEPES.

Abdelkader El Khissassi | Deputy Secretary General Economic Development and Employment, UfM.

 

Keynote welcome speakers à confirmer

Yolanda Díaz Pérez | Second Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Labour and Social Economy, Government of Spain (tbc)

Keynote speaker

Presenter: Mr. Juan Antonio Pedreño | General Coordinator of the ESMED Network, President of CEPES and Social Economy Europe.

Victor Meseguer | Director, Social Economy Europe.

 

Table: « L’innovation sociale et la technologie au service des personnes et de la planète”

Intervenants confirmés

Moderateur: Haddar Mohamed | Vice president, Réseau des Associations de l’économie sociale RADES

Jamal Hamid | Head of Administration and Finance President, Cooperative COOPSCLUB

Aicha Belassir |Technical Director of the Federation of Employers’ Associations of Insertion Enterprises FAEDEI

Table: “Des entreprises de l’économie sociale pour construire un marché du travail inclusif et égalitaire”

Intervenants confirmés

Moderator: Abdellah Souhir |President, Moroccan Network of Social and Solidarity Economy (REMESS).

Marta Bruschi (EU) | DIESIS Network, Social economy initiatives in favour of job creation in the Mediterranean region.

Alessandro Viola | Head of Investigation and Development of the Cooperazione Finanza Impresa CFI, Workers-buyout support programmes, Italy

Closing words: Carlos Lozano | Coordinator of ESMED Secretariat. Spanish Confederation of Social Economy Enterprises CEPES

Co-organised in partnership with:

Salvador Illa

Ministry of Health, Government of Spain (Special Guest Speaker)

Enric Mayolas

Consulting Director, World Health Management (Moderator)

Gonzalo Fanjul

Policy Director, Institut Salut Global

Chakib Abouzaid

Secretary General, General Arab Insurance Federation

European Regional Development Fund              A way to make Europe

Building Stronger Ties through Social Economy

The social economy is already a fundamental part of the private sector and contributes to sustainable development and competitiveness. It is a top-level business actor, which energises the economy of countries such as Spain, France or Portugal. Only in the European Union, it generates 8% of GDP and represents 10% of all companies. In the southern Mediterranean countries, it also plays an important role as it creates 15 million jobs across 3.2 million companies that describe themselves as social enterprises. 

This sector is vibrant. It fosters inclusive societies that are driven by job creation and sustainable growth. Yet to thrive it requires adapted and supportive ecosystems that can provide the framework for its development.

The Mediterranean faces a serious demographic challenge and needs to create six times more jobs than the ones that are currently available. With ratios of youth unemployment of 35% and 45% for women, the situation is fragile in some countries. Having a healthy, inclusive and sustainable business ecosystem means prosperity and the opportunity to catalyse all the region’s potential.

COVID-19 pandemic has decelerated the economic growth across the globe. In 2019 the unemployment rate reached 12%. In the same period, 30 % of workers were in informal labour in the south of the Mediterranean; a situation that affects young people (62.4%), women (54.3%) and workers in the tourism sector (70%).

Coordinated action is needed to create inclusive economies and youth employment. It is necessary to facilitate the way for the private sector, as well as greater public investment in infrastructure, and health and education that provide the tools. A project is needed that provides alternatives to accommodate the enormous energy of youth and women.  Options that improve their representation within the government of organisations and use that energy for economic and social reconstruction.

It is possible to favour the process of innovation, experimentation and collaboration between all market players, even in sectors of activity not connected to the social economy. The key is to recognise the added value of social economy organisations, improve their ability to report on the social and economic dimensions of their actions, and use that potential to fight unemployment.

The social economy must be part of a new model of economic development that also encompasses a digital, green and blue revolution to achieve a just, egalitarian and inclusive system that could meet social expectations and reduce the injustice gap. The battle against inequality and poverty must be at the centre of this great challenge.

The consequences of COVID-19 have had repercussions worldwide, regardless of the development of countries or their political and economic forces. This pandemic has made it clear that, in addition to demanding universal health systems with quality and immediate response, it is essential to rethink the social networks that connect us at a local, national and international level.

This pandemic is an opportunity to give visibility to the social economy and make the principles that inspire it to reach a greater number of local, regional and international actors.

Stimulating local services, promoting short production-distribution circuits and reorganising the community, are some of the actions that are being developed to generate social, economic and political inclusion mechanisms in a context of post-COVID-19 recovery.

Rethinking and acting on the future is a challenging task, as the COVID-19 pandemic has generated a global health crisis with enormous consequences in many areas of life. Soon we will experience its impact on the economy, welfare, and on the employment situation of millions of people, as well as on the quality of employment in this new normal reality.

The Social Economy is presented as a plausible route to recovering and developing dignified jobs that respond comprehensively to the current crisis. There are lessons and good practices from community cooperation, circular economy, sustainability and actions that involve people, groups and entities with knowledge and experience of how to strengthen territorial bonds.

18th November 2021

17:00 – 18:30

Mediterranean Social Economy Forum

Session: The Mediterranean region faces great challenges after COVID-19

  • Recovery and new development through social economy in the Mediterranean region.
  • Challenges, strategies and response of social economy after COVID-19.
  • How can social economy in Mediterranean be strengthened and its contribution to economic development, regional collaboration and social inclusion be consolidated?
  • Euro-Mediterranean initiatives fostering the development of the Social Economy entrepreneurship.
  • What lessons have been learned from social economy to strengthen social and economic inclusion, in order to identify and reproduce public practices and policies in the region?
  • Social economy in digital, green and climate change responses and problems.
  • How to build a favourable euromed ecosystem that promote business cooperation and the development of the Social Economy in view of the European Action Plan for the Social Economy that the European Commission will approve at the end of 2021.

Keynote welcome speakers confirmed

Christa Schweng | President, European Economic and Social Committee.

Juan Antonio Pedreño | General Coordinator of the ESMED Network and President of Social Economy Europe and CEPES.

Abdelkader El Khissassi | Deputy Secretary General Economic Development and Employment, UfM.

 

Keynote welcome speakers to be confirmed

Yolanda Díaz Pérez | Second Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Labour and Social Economy, Government of Spain (tbc)

 

Keynote speaker

Presenter: Mr. Juan Antonio Pedreño | General Coordinator of the ESMED Network, President of CEPES and Social Economy Europe.

Victor Meseguer | Director, Social Economy Europe.

 

Table: “Social innovation and techonology at the service of people and the planet”

Speakers confirmed

Moderator: Haddar Mohamed | Vice president, Réseau des Associations de l’économie sociale RADES

Jamal Hamid | Head of Administration and Finance President, Cooperative COOPSCLUB

Aicha Belassir |Technical Director of the Federation of Employers’ Associations of Insertion Enterprises FAEDEI

Table: “Social economy enterprises to build an inclusive and equal labour market”

Speakers confirmed

Moderator: Abdellah Souhir |President, Moroccan Network of Social and Solidarity Economy (REMESS).

Marta Bruschi (EU) | DIESIS Network, Social economy initiatives in favour of job creation in the Mediterranean region.

Alessandro Viola | Head of Investigation and Development of the Cooperazione Finanza Impresa CFI, Workers-buyout support programmes, Italy.

Closing words: Carlos Lozano | Coordinator of ESMED Secretariat. Spanish Confederation of Social Economy Enterprises CEPES

Salvador Illa

Ministry of Health, Government of Spain (Special Guest Speaker)

Enric Mayolas

Consulting Director, World Health Management (Moderator)

Gonzalo Fanjul

Policy Director, Institut Salut Global

Chakib Abouzaid

Secretary General, General Arab Insurance Federation

Co-organised in partnership with:

European Regional Development Fund              A way to make Europe